India keep the Kiwis down to 126

India’s Bumrah came back in the 16th over, delivered yorker after yorker and sent back Corey Anderson for a well-made 34.

Anderson tried to scoop the ball over fine leg but Bumrah uprooted his middle stump. The Kiwi allrounder faced 42 balls and struck three fours in his innings.

India v New Zealand
New Zealand: 126/7 (20.0/20 over)
New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat

New Zealand lost the important wicket of Ross Taylor due to a brilliant piece of fielding by the bowler Raina in the 12th over.

Raina moved quickly in his follow-through, dived, tumbled and rolled as he collected the ball and backhanded it on to the stumps. Taylor was a long way out and was run out for 10 runs from 14 balls.

Kiwis stumble after the quick wickets…

The Kiwis were rattled again in the seventh over when their captain Williamson lost his cool and gave away his wicket. Williamson stepped out of the crease too early and was stumped comfortably in the end.

Raina sent back Williamson for eight runs only.

India got their second breakthrough not long after Ashwin struck, and Ashish Nehra sent back Munron for seven runs in the second over.

Munro stepped out of his crease, tried to smash the ball down the ground but only managed to mis-time his shot to Pandya at mid-off.

India calling the shots early…

New Zealand were rattled early in the first over when Ashwin sent back New Zealand opener Guptill with his second ball.

Although the umpire ruled in favour of the bowler in his lbw plea, replays showed the ball was going over the stumps. Guptill had to leave for six runs from two balls.

New Zealand captain won the toss and decided to bat first given the conditions at Nagpur’s VCA stadium against India led by MS Dhoni in the first game of the Super 10 phase of the ICC WT20 2016.

The Kiwis will begin life without Brendon McCullum, their charismatic skipper. In his absence, Kane Williamson, will lead a team that's packed with talented but underachieving players.

The batting looks settled and the squad has as many as three spinners. Will they go with sheer pace or will they look to spin India out? If pace is their answer, Adam Milne or Mitchell McClenaghan should form a three pronged attack along with Tim Southee and Trent Boult.

India, on the other hand, have gone on record to say they are on "auto-pilot" in the shortest format thanks to the exposure from the IPL. Their top order is perhaps the strongest in the tournament and you would think with Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya lower down, there is enough of a failsafe should things go wrong.

The only reason there may be a change made to India's Asia Cup-winning XI is if Mohammed Shami has impressed the management enough to squeeze in ahead of Ashish Nehra.

India have won 10 out of 11 T20I matches since the start of the year.

In their only meeting in WT20s, New Zealand beat India by 10 runs at Johannesburg in 2007. New Zealand and India have met each other only once during the last seven years in T20Is with New Zealand winning that match at Chennai by 1 run.

The surfaces in use for the qualifiers at Nagpur here have been dry. Balls have stopped on the batsman a bit - even offcutters from the seam bowlers.


MS Dhoni (Captain, Wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, JJ Bumrah, S Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, RA Jadeja, V Kohli, Mohammed Shami, P Negi, A Nehra, HH Pandya, AM Rahane, SK Raina, RG Sharma and Yuvraj Singh

New Zealand

KS Williamson (Captain), CJ Anderson, TA Boult, GD Elliott, MJ Guptill, MJ McClenaghan, NL McCullum, AF Milne, C Munro, HM Nicholls, L Ronchi (Wicketkeeper), MJ Santner, IS Sodhi, TG Southee and LRPL Tay

source : the daily star

0 Response to "India keep the Kiwis down to 126 "

Post a Comment