DPL player draft on April 10

The Dhaka Premier League's (DPL) lottery-based players' transfer, called 'player-by-choice', will be held on April 10 at a local hotel. And the coveted 50-over domestic competition is likely to get underway from April 20. Regarding the competition, the working committee of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) finalised some issues in yesterday's meeting at a local hotel in Gulshan.
“Mainly, we have discussed the Dhaka Premier League and took some decisions as the board referred the issue to the working committee. And as per the decision, the lottery for the player-by-choice will be held on April 10,” said working committee chairman and BCB director Enayet Hossain Siraj.
BCB's media committee chairman Jalal Yunus, who was also present at the meeting, disclosed the detailed outcome of the meeting.
The 12 Premier League clubs will pick their choice of players from the players divided into eight categories -- Icon (fixed salary of Tk 30 lakh), A+ (fixed salary of Tk 25 lakh), A (Tk 20 lakh), B+ (Tk 15 lakh), B (Tk 12 lakh), C (Tk 8 lakh), D (Tk 5 lakh) and E (Tk 3.5 lakh).
“A club will be able to retain two old players, so those selected players will not be included in the lottery. The CCDM (Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis) will prepare the players' list for the eight categories. We are yet to finalise the start of the league but most likely it will kick off from April 20. There will be a reserve day for each match as rain may interrupt the league. A club will be able to register an unlimited number of foreign players but can field only one each match,” said Yunus.
Except Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman who are likely to be engaged in the Indian Premier League (IPL), all the national players will be available. The player-by-choice system, which is abhorred by the players as it takes away their negotiating powers, was first introduced in the Dhaka Premier League in the 2012-13 season and it was said that as the national players will be unavailable due to national commitments, it will also be in place for the 2015-2016 season.
“Yes, the national players will be available except Shakib and Mustafizur but the decision was approved by the board much earlier,” explained Yunus.
The working committee has also decided that the franchise-based T20 competition, the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), will take place in November this year. “We cannot fix a date as the number of participating teams will be increased this season,” informed Yunus. Last season Barisal Bulls, Chittagong Vikings, Comilla Victorians, Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders and Sylhet Superstars took part.
The working committee has also recommended a 25 per cent increase in the grant for the DPL clubs and BPL franchises from last season.
Regarding the contract of the national selection committee and coaching staff, Yunus said: “The board will take the decisions regarding this issues. We may add more members to the selection panel and a review is being conducted regarding the incumbent selectors' performance. On the other hand we are hopeful about retaining the old coaching staff as the board is satisfied with the last two years' performance.”
When asked about the outcome of the recent ICC meeting, Yunus said: “Our president (Nazmul Hassan Papon) informed us that the ICC praised Bangladesh's performance and there is a good chance that we will get a greater share of the ICC's revenue.”

source : the daily star

0 Response to "DPL player draft on April 10"

Post a Comment