India beat Zimbabwe by 10 wickets

India rode on young seamer Barinder Sran’s memorable performance on debut to notch up a crushing 10-wicket victory over Zimbabwe in the second Twenty20 International and level the three-match series 1-1 here on Monday.

Zimbabwe skipper Graeme Cremer opted to bat as a determined India restricted the hosts to 99 for nine in the stipulated 20 overs with Sran returning the best figures by an Indian debutant in the T20 format to lay the foundation.

Mandeep Singh (52) and K.L. Rahul (47) then led the way with unbeaten knocks as the visitors chased down the target with 41 balls to spare.

This was India’s first 10-wicket win in this format.

Sran (four for 10) was ably assisted by Jasprit Bumrah, who picked up three wickets for 11 runs in his quota of four overs.

Before Sran, Pragyan Ojha (four for 21) against Bangladesh in 2009 World T20, held the Indian record. Bangladesh’s Elias Sunny (five for 13) holds the record for the best bowling figures by a debutant in T20 Internationals.

Bouncing back

Owing to the pace duo’s efforts, India staged a strong comeback after a shocking two-run loss in the opening T20 International at the same venue.

Earlier, Zimbabwe was pushed on to the back foot from the word go as Sran and Bumrah picked up wickets at regular intervals to run through the fragile batting line-up.

Playing in place of Richmond Mutumbani, Peter Moor (31) was the top-scorer for the hapless hosts. His knock had two boundaries and a six.

Brief Scores:

Zimbabwe: 99 for 9 in 20 overs (Peter Moor 31; Barinder Sran 4/10, Jasprit Bumrah 3/11).

India: 103 for no loss in 13.1 overs (KL Rahul 47 not out, Mandeep Singh 52 not out).


India: Lokesh Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Axar Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Yuzvendra Chahal

Zimbabwe: Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Peter Moor, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Graeme Cremer (capt), Neville Madziva, Taurai Muzarabani, Donald Tiripano.

Source: thehindu

0 Response to "India beat Zimbabwe by 10 wickets"

Post a Comment